Big Ambitions

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” Jeremiah 29: 11 KJV

Growing you as children we were taught to aim high, to have big ambitions. Everyone wanted to be a teacher, doctor, lawyer or nurse, just to name a few. We were taught to set goals and work hard to achieve them. So like everyone else, I did just that. However, as I grew older, my well planned life was not working… well, as planned. Something was missing and I couldn’t quite figure out what it was.

A good friend sent me this bible text the other day…” For my thoughts are not your thoughts, and my ways not your ways.” Ever thought while making all the plans you’ve made that maybe they’re not in line with God’s plans for you? While the thought had occurred to me one numerous occasions  prior to this, that morning it was drummed home. At that time I’d been making plans for something I wanted to do at  church and I was reminded of the fact that we are to avail ourselves as vessels to be used by God and stop telling God want we want to do.

How many times have you done that ? Yet every morning we pray saying, “Not my will but thine be done” right after we tell God what we have planned for the day. Ever thought to ask, ” Lord what do you have planned for me?” On this journey of change that I’ve embarked on, I’ve noticed that His plans always work out better than mine.

Now I’m not saying we should not make plans, we just need to remember that we can do nothing without Him. Keep that in mind as you go on each day. Let’s make a vow to include God in all we do. Be ambitious but plan with God.

P.S. May all we do and say be to His name’s honour and glory. Amen.

Leave a Reply

