For the Lonely Nights

…I will never leave you nor forsake you. (Hebrews 13:5 KJV)

I’ll share with you a secret.

The smile many persons see on my face is forced most of the times.

At this point you may be asking, “But why?”

You see something happened a few years back and the reality hit that while many persons rely on me in varying instants, to them I was more of a convenience store than a friend. These of course were persons I considered my friends. The shock of my discover cause me to cut off nearly everyone around me and keep to myself. I don’t think many persons even noticed.

The nights got lonely with no one to talk and I sank further into depression that had been bubbling beneath the surface for months. Some nights I cried myself to sleep, other nights I occupied myself with novels and movies that I probably never should have opened. There were even times when I considered given up my personally convictions just so I didnt have to be so alone, just so I could fit in.

In that time however, as I struggled with who I really was versus who the world wanted me to be, I realized that there was someone who always wanted me around and who love me no matter what. I spent so much time trying to fit in with persons who were never gonna like me, that I lost sight of the fact that God loves me just the way I am. You see, as the nights became more lonely, I started to talk to God… I started to tell him how I felt, ask him what to do and just talk for hours letting all the feelings out. Yeah, I know, I sound like I lost it for a while there… but in those lonely hours, yes those precious lonely hours, Jesus let me know that I was his own.

I know I’m not the only one who’s ever been lonely. Whatever the reason, we’ve all had lonely nights. But more than year after my encounter with reality I can confidently, through personal experience tell you that he’ll never leave, you never forsake you , trust him and see. I mean, he said so himself didn’t he?

So when the nights get lonely… remember the best friend to have is Jesus when the cares of life upon you roll… or do what I do cause I found out with him…”I’ll never be lonely again, never again.”

P.S. He promised never to ever to leave me, never to leave me alone.

Leave a Reply

