My Brother’s Keeper

And the LORD said unto Cain, Where is Abel thy brother? And he said, I know not: Am I my brother’s keeper? (Genesis 4:9 KJV)

A few years, my grandmother asked me after church one day where my older cousin was. Now me being the me I then was said, ” How should I know, I not her keeper.” OOOOOOOOO… big mistake.

You see, my cousin was in the prime of her teenage years and was doing as she pleased, and I had learnt yet to keep my opinions to myself. (I don’t think I have yet.) The repercussions from that statement might still be haunting me today. I was reported to my aunt, who gave me a long lecture, then to my mother, who might have given me an even longer lecture, not that the message sank in then.

A few years later, I met up with a childhood friend we had nearly written off because he stopped going to church as often we did. He stopped believing. So me being me, went to try and convince him to come to church and show him the error of his ways, that was when the message finally sunk in. You see, all those years we spent condemning him we were never aware of what him home life was like.

His mother was being abused by his father and he often got in the middle, which had its own consequences. I considered myself his friend… how could I have missed all of this, how had I not seen the signs? His story haunted me for weeks, but I learnt a lesson I will not soon forget. It’s true that we outgrow persons and that we don’t quite get along so well with everyone, but Jesus calls us to be a friend to all, even those who aren’t our friends.

You may have a friend, a family member or an acquaintance you haven’t check on in a while, or even someone you see everyday who may be going through something you’re not aware of. It’s time we all stepped up to the plate and started being the brothers and sisters Christ calls us to be.

Are you your brother’s keeper? Yes. Have you been a good keeper? That’s a question only you can answer.

P.S. A friend in need, is a friend in deed.

Leave a Reply

