Frogs in Heaven

And the voice spake unto him again the second time, What God hath cleansed, that call not thou common.Acts 11: 15(KJV)

Green, slimy, gross, with tiny little beady eyes that look as if they’re starring right at you… Ewwwwwww. Frogs. YUCK!

Since I was a little girl, I’ve had an illogical fear of frogs.  I’d cross the road if I saw one in front of me, dead or alive, and I would not enter the house, or even exit, if one was on the veranda.  I can’t even look at a picture of a frog without being grossed out.

The thought occurred to me recently that there’ll be frogs in heaven. I had to pause to analyse how I felt about that. I’ve been really looking forward to going to heaven. [Not that I’m certain I’ll make it with all the mess in my life, but I intend to.] You see, I obsessed with animals. If I had my way, I owned horses, tigers, panthers, lions, wolves, foxes, eagles, dolphins, orcas, leopards, etc. etc. etc. I think you get my point, unfortunately for me though, that dream is illogical.

If (when, you have to speaking it into being) I make it to heaven being able to play with wild animals is a major plus. Imagine I get to meet my saviour, the prophets, great men and women of old, my family, my friends, strangers with awesome stories to tell [I like stories] and play with wild animals. AAAAAWWWWWEEEEE-SOME!!!

But frogs are going to be there… Well as I see it, I’ll either have to learn to love them or forget it all together, and forgetting isn’t an option. Ain’t no frog gonna keep me outta heaven.

My point, we as Christians have this belief it would that people we don’t won’t be in heaven or even if they are, we’ll find some way to avoid them. In plain Jamaican patios, “Anuh suh it wuk.” God teaches us love all people, no matter who they are or what they’ve done… Even the frogs. You see, in heaven, the place we’re all planning to go, there is no separation be colour, class, education or deeds. We therefore, need to start loving each other from here. Jesus reminds to judge not, lest we be judged.

I’m sure no one wants their hatred of frogs to keep them out of heaven. Imagine, frogs in heaven and I’m not there. I guess I’ll just have to start loving frogs.

 

P.S. Learn fi dance a yaad before yuh guh abroad.

Leave a Reply

