The Important Things

Next Friday I turn 22. That’s right… On the 11 of the 11 I turn 22, awesome right?

In my almost 22 years of life I’ve come to realize something. Our physical lives last only as long as God grants us breath, but we live on in the memories of others based on how we live our lives. This gets me to thinking ever so often… If I die today, how would I be remembered.

If I check the folks from primary school, they’d said I was the smart, barefoot, Indian girl. If I asked those whom I attended high school with, they either remember me as the Indian girl who never combed her hair and always had her nose buried in a book or they’d not remember me at all. Folks from 6th form would remember me as always being in the art room or as my best friend’s best friend or my sister’s sister. My class from dental school probably won’t even remember I was apart of the class and the same goes for my classmates now.

You would think I’m complaining but I find this all hilarious. What’s the point of remembering someone for the trivial things? What’s the point of remembering someone whose name is not found in the lamb’s book of life? A few years ago the theme song for the “Alana Show” became ” Live for Jesus.” I had gotten to the point where I began wondering if all this christian stuff was worth it? I mean,  when Christ said leave all and follow him he meant it. “Friends, Fun, Freedom…” But I now understand that having a ton of friends remembering me for nonsense is an absolute waste of time.

Lord I wanna be remembered as the girl who sang her song for Jesus Christ, Who was willing to lay down her life, and to do his will no matter what the price… As I celebrate my 22nd year of life, I want to do something that no one important will probably remember the day after. I need your help. Help me share meals with the less fortunate around us. I’m dubbing November 11, 2016, Share a Meal Day.

You see the truth is, it doesn’t matter if we are remembered what matters is how we are remembered and by who. So while we’re helping others, keep in mine we do this not to be remembered or for gratification, we do this as our Christian duty to our fellowmen.

Do what you can to impact the lives of others now, for what will it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his own soul. How will you be remembered? Make good memories today.

P.S. God remembers.  #shareameal. #november11.

 

 

Leave a Reply

